
New World: A Carcassonne Game
Out Of Stock
Description
In New World: A Carcassonne Game, players begin as early settlers of the United States on the east coast of the continent. As in the original Carcassonne game, players lay tiles turn by turn to build towns, roads, and other parts of the countryside. A player can choose to place one of his tokens on the tile he lays for the turn, and if that town, road, etc. is completed, then the player scores points and reclaims his token for later use. Whoever scores the most points wins.
One big twist in New World: A Carcassonne Game compared to the original game is that play starts on the east coast, and as players score points, a pair of surveyors drive exploration inexorably westward. Players who do not complete their features before the surveyors pass them by will find their tokens removed from the board - for no points!
FREQUENTLY ASKED QUESTIONS
Q. Can you play a tile NORTH or SOUTH of the edge of the board?
A. Yes. However, You cannot play a tile EAST of the coastline.
Q. If more than one feature is completed in a turn, in what order are the features scored?
A. The active player chooses the order in which the features are scored.
Q. Is a Surveyor moved after each feature is scored?
A. Yes, if possible.
(NOTE: A completed feature is NOT scored unless occupied by at least one Meeple.)
Q. What if there are no tiles which are WEST of the Surveyors?
A. The Surveyors do not move and no Meeples are removed from the board.
Q. Do Meeples to the EAST of the Surveyors get removed every time a Surveyor is moved?
A. Yes, except the Meeples which are laying down on the board.
Q. When scoring a feature, do you include the "tiles" on the coastline board?
A. Yes.
Q. Is the Surveyor bonus +2 points per Surveyor OR +4 points per Surveyor?
A. +4 points per Surveyor.
(NOTE: The bonus is applied to each scored Meeple in the same column as a Surveyor.)
Q. Is the +2 points bonus of the Trading Posts applied to incomplete trails?
A. Yes. Thus a completed trail and an incomplete trail are scored the same way.
Q. The rules show a start tile. Is there a start tile in the game?
A. No.
Q. Can tiles/meeples be placed east of the Surveyors?
A. Yes! Tiles and meeples can be placed East of the Surveyors but keep in mind they will be removed from the board when the next scoring/Surveyor move happens.
Extra Info
Ages: 8 and up
Artist:
BGID: 34615
Category: City Building, Exploration
Description:
Designer: Klaus-Jürgen Wrede
Family: Age of Discovery, Carcassonne
Mechanics: Area Control / Area Influence, Tile Placement
Players:
PrimaryName:
Product Title:
Publisher: 999 Games, Bergsala Enigma, Hans im Glück Verlags-GmbH, Lautapelit.fi, Rio Grande Games, Schmidt France,
Time: 45 minutes
Year: 2008
Manufacturer:
SKU:
Game:
Main Category:
Part Code:
Sub Category:
SSC:
Type:
Number:
Code: